Word Wednesday

Linking up with Amanda over at With A Joyful Noise.

But he that knew not, and did commit things worthy of stripes, shall be beaten with few stripes. For unto whomsoever much is given, of him shall be much required: and to whom men have committed much, of him they will ask the more.     Luke 12:48

This has been a verse that I have heard, and even quoted many times throughout my life, but today in my devotions I took the opportunity to meditate on it a bit, and realized just how much I have failed in this area.

What are some of the things I have been given that I find it all too easy to take for granted or neglect.

My Bible: Am I diligent with Bible study and memorization?

Prayer: Whew, definitely don’t take advantage of this one. And the Lord has even provided me with a house, that has plenty of spaces for “going into my closet”. (Yes, that is more of a novelty than one might imagine).

My family: Am I diligent to serve them and minister to them at every opportunity.

And so many more things, I can’t even begin to enumerate them!

I know most Christians have been given these same things, and yet many of them are new Christians, or have not been given the wonderful opportunities and advantages I have such as being raised in a Christian family, and taught from the Bible, how I am to take advantage of and cultivate all of these things. So that in itself is something I will be called on the give an account of. What a sobering thought!

What has God given you, that could be used for His glory?

One thought on “Word Wednesday

  1. Thanks for linking up with me! 🙂

    Wow…it is so true that I need to stop and reflect on what God has given me to use for His glory. Though that is kind of what I have been doing in terms of “projects” this summer, I still need the reminder of “What is my focus in these.” Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

