“Grace Triumphant: A Tale of the Slave Trade” by Alicia Willis

25414534

This is a story of three lives, and how God manifested His grace in each of them.

Russell Lawrence: the captain of a slave trader and a self-proclaimed atheist who resists the God that his mother believed in and taught him about.

Jack Dunbar: cabin boy to Russell Lawrence and a believer who struggles to understand why God would place him in a position where he is forced to participate in activities that go against his conscience.

Elizabeth Gray: a young lady of high society, engaged to the most eligible and sought after bachelor, Cedrick Raynott (but what is he truly hiding behind his ­­­­­­good looks and gallantry?), also a believer who is seeking to find out what the purpose of her life is, and who becomes involved in the Society for the Abolition of the Slave Trade.

Follow these characters as they walk the path that God has laid out for each of them, and try to make sense of the struggles and trials that they encounter.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and thought-provoking read! The story lines were cleverly entwined and always kept me wanting to read more! It is evident that Alicia definitely did her research on this book!

The struggles that the characters faced were also realistically portrayed, but I loved the fact that time spent with the Lord always brought a sense of peace.

There were two things that came to mind as I read this story. One was the fact that one of the characters’ story portrays a similarity to that of Joseph in the Bible. The other was that, this passage would seem to be a good theme passage for the book.

“Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:

On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him:

But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

Job 23:8-12

Leave a Reply

