“An Uncommon Courtship” by Kristi Ann Hunter

51mqoviavll

“Life for Lady Adelaide Bell was easier if she hid in her older sister’s shadow–which worked until her sister got married. Even with thepressure of her socially ambitious mother, the last thing she expected was a marriage of convenience to save her previously spotless reputation.

Lord Trent Hawthorne couldn’t be happier that he is not the duke in the family. He’s free to manage his small estate and take his time discovering the life he wants to lead, which includes grand plans of wooing and falling in love with the woman of his choice. When he finds himself honor bound to marry a woman he doesn’t know, his dream of a marriage like his parents’ seems lost forever.

Already starting their marriage on shaky ground, can Adelaide and Trent’s relationship survive the pressures of London society?”

In general I love this type of storyline! A man and woman forced into a marriage through means outside their own control, who then learn how to love each other. Yes, I did say how to love not just to love each other. Is their a difference? I think so, and I think this book did a great job of portraying it. Learning to love involves more of the feelings whereas I think learning how to love involves a choice. And that is exactly what this book focuses on. It focuses on what love really means, and how a couple learn about it and learn to put it into practice because God brought them together for life. One thing I particularly admired was the fact that it was never an option of whether they would stay married or not. That was a given, and they had to work out the kind of marriage relationship they were going to have. And I think the author did a great job of handling the topic.

There was one really big and disappointing thing in this book for me. The author included ‘the bedroom scene’. I don’t think it’s justified, but I will make the disclaimer that there was no sensuality in it. It was written more as a sequence of events (only up to a certain point) with a small amount of conversation. What was more disappointing was that they didn’t leave it there. In the following chapter, and possibly two, Trent discusses an ‘issue’ that occurred which I think could have been avoided. It provides for some awkward moments of conversation.

Because of this, my rating is lowered by 1 1/2 stars, which disappoints me greatly.

This really was a great story, but I would have a hard time recommending it someone without reservation.

Despite that I’m really looking forward to the next book in the series which I believe will be Griffith’s story.

*Disclaimer: I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

