“Still Life” by Dani Pettrey.


“Someone Is Out There. Watching Her. Waiting. 

Blacklisted in the photography business over a controversial shot, Avery Tate answered an ad for a crime-scene photographer. She expected to be laughed at, but crime-scene analyst Parker Mitchell hired her outright–and changed her life. But six months ago, when her feelings for Parker became too strong, she left his employ to sort out her heart. 

  Now, for the first time, Avery is facing the world that rejected her to attend the gallery opening of a photography exhibit for which her friend modeled. But the only image of her friend is a chilling photo of her posing as if dead–and the photographer insists he didn’t take the shot. Worse, her friend can’t be found, and so Avery immediately calls Parker for help. 

  As Avery, Parker, and their friends in law enforcement dig into the mystery, they find themselves face-to-face with a relentless and deadly threat. “

I am happy to give a 5 star review of this book! I read the first in the series last year, really enjoyed it, and was looking forward to reading the next in the series. This did not disappoint and if anything I enjoyed it just a little bit more. Parker was one of my favorite characters in the first book, so perhaps that’s why I liked this one so much. It was great to see all the other characters again as well, and follow the continuing threads of their various stories. I find Kate and Luke’s thread the most intriguing and am really looking forward to seeing it play out in coming books.

As for the mystery, despite the fact that the premise was a little gruesome, I honestly didn’t find it too hard to handle. It didn’t really go into too many gory details leaving it more to the imagination. There may be one scene that was the exception, but once again I didn’t find it that disturbing probably because I was more focused on where the bad guy was gonna jump out from, and less on what was being discovered. As for who killer was? Definitely unpredictable, which is actually the way I like it. Despite the fact that there is a certain amount of glee in saying “I knew it!” I still love the mysteries where I’m like, “Wow, never saw that coming!”

The spiritual content was also really good! Maybe not as strong as it could have been, but still I didn’t find it weak at all. It dealt with the theme of moving on from the past which a character was saved out of, giving the gospel to close friends from that past, and yet not blaming yourself if they don’t make the choices you wish for them.

Overall a great book and nearly impossible to put down, once started (at least for me)!

*Disclaimer: I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

