“Murder is No Accident” by Ann H. Gabhart

9781493405985

“Young Maggie Greene may be trespassing in the old, empty Victorian mansion on a quiet street in Hidden Springs, but all she wants is some private time in the magnificent tower room to write her stories. Certain she’ll be in trouble if caught, she hides when a realtor shows up. But someone else is in the house too, someone even more worried about getting caught. When Maggie finds the realtor’s body at the bottom of a flight of stairs and the other person gone, Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane is called in. He assumes the realtor’s death is a tragic accident–until a second person is found dead in the house. When Maggie is threatened, Michael must catch the murderer before anyone else dies.

Cozy mystery fans will love this third installment in The Hidden Springs Mysteries series from an author who knows how to make small-town America sweet, sentimental–and a little sinister.”

I gotta admit, I signed up to review this book because of the cover. I’ve always loved the board game “Clue” and its layout. Always made me wish I could climb inside it. So when I saw this book, I couldn’t resist despite the fact that it was the third in a series. Well, before I started reading it, I’d decided I’d see if I might get a hold of the first two books somehow (through Kindle lending if nothing else). Well, as it turned out the first one is free at the moment. So I snagged it and as I was nearing the end I knew I HAD to read the second one, so I broke down and paid for it…but it was totally worth it! And finally about 10 days after I initially received the book, I finally got the read the third one.

Okay that was all back story. Now for my review.

Even though I did read all three in order, I think even if I had only read the third one it would have been fine as a stand-alone. There are references to occurrences in the previous books, but nothing that would be confusing or detract from the story.  This was a truly enjoyable book to read.

Despite what I said in my last review about enjoying being shocked at the end of a mystery to find out “who-dun-it”, I still enjoyed figuring out who it was almost from the start of each of these mysteries. The last one was a little more difficult for me than the other two and I only ended up getting it half-right after all. There was definitely a surprise waiting for me at the end of this one.

I loved Michael and Alex’s little side story that wasn’t directly related to any of the mysteries, but, ugh, Mrs. Gabhart still left me with some unanswered questions. Could we have one more little novella please?

I loved all the towns people that helped fill out the story so wonderfully. Honestly, it’s almost like a modern day Mayberry, all the way down to Aunt Lindy in place of Aunt Bee, and Lester in place of Barney Fife. I gotta say though, Hank the news reporter just about got on my last nerve. 🙂

There is one thing that brings it down to 4 stars for me. The spiritual content lacked much to be desired. The only one that seemed like she was probably a real Christian in the entire series was Aunt Lindy. The rest were all pretty wishy-washy. Not only that but there is a Presbyterian woman pastor that is painted in a very positive light which I found very annoying.

So my over all review: for a good, clean, enjoyable, cozy mystery, this is a great choice! But don’t expect much in the spiritual department.

Disclaimer: I received this book from Revell Books in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

