“Behind the Scenes” by Jen Turano


Miss Permilia Griswold may have been given the opportunity of a debut into New York high society, but no one warned her she wasn’t guaranteed to “take.” After spending the last six years banished to the wallflower section of the ballroom, she’s finally putting her status on the fringes of society to good use by penning anonymous society gossip columns under the pseudonym “Miss Quill.”

Mr. Asher Rutherford has managed to maintain his status as a reputable gentleman of society despite opening his own department store. While pretending it’s simply a lark to fill his time, he has quite legitimate reasons for needing to make his store the most successful in the country.
When Permilia overhears a threat against the estimable Mr. Rutherford, she’s determined to find and warn the man. Disgruntled at a first meeting that goes quite poorly and results in Asher not believing her, she decides to take matters into her own hands, never realizing she’ll end up at risk as well.

As Asher and Permilia are forced to work together and spend time away from the spotlight of society, perhaps there’s more going on behind the scenes than they ever could have anticipated. . . .”
First of all, the cover of this book is absolutely beautiful, and the dress that Permelia is wearing plays a rather significant part in the story. Speaking of Permelia, the names in this book are so humorous to me. Every time a new one would pop up, my eyebrows would go a little higher. 🙂 

So now for the story. This is my first book to read by Mrs. Turano even though I’ve been seeing her books for a while now and even have a couple on my kindle. I had read reviews of several of her books including this one, so I was pretty much prepared for the style of writing. It is probably what I would call a caricature. The author certainly has a flair for the dramatic and ridiculous, but as I said I was prepared for that so I actually really enjoyed. Once again when I came to a couple of the most dramatic and climactic scenes, my eyebrows were going higher and higher as I wondered who would walk in the door next. It really was quite hilarious! 

It was interesting to see the plot develop and I really liked Permelia as a character. Forgive me if I say Asher was your typical, run-of-mill hero. I liked him a lot, but I can’t say there was anything that stuck out to me as particularly unique among the masses of tall, dark, and handsome heros, with all the charming qualities one has come to expect of that breed. I did quite enjoy the sparring that went on between him and Permelia. 🙂

The spirirtual content was perhaps a little shallow though it was actually better than I had anticipated. I loved the last sentence in this book! It summed it all up very well!

Overall I enjoyed this book, and I wouldn’t mind reading another at some point. 

*Disclaimer: I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

