“High as the Heavens” by Kate Breslin

51sRkaVS-iL

“In 1917, Evelyn Marche is just one of many women who has been widowed by the war. A British nurse trapped in German-occupied Brussels, she spends her days working at a hospital and her nights as a waitress in her aunt and uncle’s café. Eve also has a carefully guarded secret keeping her in constant danger: She’s a spy working for a Belgian resistance group in league with the British Secret Service.

When a British plane crashes in Brussels Park, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to discover she recognizes the badly injured pilot. British RFC Captain Simon Forrester is now a prisoner of war, and Eve knows he could be shot as a spy at any time. She risks her own life to hide him from the Germans, but as the danger mounts and the secrets between them grow, their chance of survival looks grim. And even if they do make it out alive, the truth of what lies between them may be more than any love can overcome.”

3 cheers for another author that can spin a riveting tale! Because I had read reviews, I was going in with pretty high expectations and I was not disappointed. I seriously had such a hard time putting this book down.

The setting is beautifully developed and I felt like I was living the story (which is pretty rare for me), yet there is no information dumping; it all just comes naturally in the story. I think one of the most amazing parts was the way she would entwine backstory with the storyline, and at those times I felt like I was remembering with the characters and yet not living it, like I did when the story was in the present.

The character development was great! I loved all of them, so much so that I would have a hard time picking my favorite. Yeah, I even liked Otto Reinhardt in his own way. When it came out who the bad guy was…yeah, definitely didn’t see that one coming.

The courage and bravery is inspiring and yet the spiritual battle that Eve fights is so realistic. The only disclaimer I will make in regards to the spiritual aspect is that it is pretty heavily Catholic and therefore I don’t agree with everything that is portrayed.

Also the romance may be a little much for more sensitive readers, and yet since it was between husband and wife, it didn’t bother me as much.

I’m knocking half a star off for the Catholic element for an overall rating of 4 1/2 stars. I just plain loved it!

*Disclaimer: I received a print copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

